Skip to main content

Library Outreach/ LSTA

SDSL LibGuides Collection LibGuides web link icon

Children's & Youth Services



Electronic Resources


Libraries of South Dakota

School Libraries

Search South Dakota Share-It


Statistics and Annual Surveys LibGuides web link icon

Training Opportunities

Tribal Libraries

Young Adult Services


South Dakota State Library
MacKay Building
800 Governors Dr.
Pierre, SD 57501

1-605-773-6962 (FAX)
(SD Only) Email

Hours: Mon-Fri
8 am - 5 pm CT
7 am - 4 pm MT

Follow Me on Pinterest

Children's & Youth Services | South Dakota Children's Book Awards | Sample Letter to Parents

Sample Letter to Parents

Below you will find a sample letter outlining and explaining to parents what the South Dakota Children's Book Awards are. You are free to edit, reproduce and distribute as you see fit:

Dear Parents,

The South Dakota Children's Book Awards encourage students in grades K-5th to read and vote for their favorite books of the year. Three children's choice awards are offered for different grade levels. The Prairie Bud Award is designed for students in grades PK-1st, the Prairie Bloom Award is designed for students in grades 2nd – 3rd, and the Pasque Pasque Award is for 4th - 5th graders. All the awards encourage students to read and vote for their favorite book from a list of nominated titles. The awards are sponsored by the South Dakota Library Association, and titles are selected for their quality and potential popularity with children by South Dakota librarians and educators.

Your child can vote for South Dakota's Children's Book Awards online at school, home or in the [Name of Local Public Library] for any book they have read or had read to them. PK-3rd grade students may vote for any of the books they enjoyed reading and feel would be deserving of the Prairie Bud or Bloom awards. 4th -5th grade students may vote for any of the books they have read by ranking them on a 3-point scale. Each award is given to the book receiving the most votes from students throughout South Dakota. The reading for all nominees officially begins in the fall with each new school year.

The South Dakota Children's Book Awards has a long history of fostering a love of reading. The Prairie Pasque Award was first given in 1987 to Ivy Ruckman for her book, Night of the Twisters. Other winners include Phyllis Reynolds Naylor for Shiloh, David Pateneaude for Someone Was Watching, and Louis Sachar for Holes. The Prairie Bud Award was created by the Prairie Valley Reading Council and has been given annually since 1998. The Prairie Bud Award was first given to Patricia Rae Wolff for her book, Toll-Bridge Troll. Other winners include Bill Grossman for My Little Sister Ate One Hare and Joan Steiner for Look-Alikes.

Awards voting beings October 1 and concludes April 1. Winning titles are announced during National Library Week in April. A list of nominated titles for each award is attached. The books are available at our school library and the [Name of Local Public Library]. Please, encourage your child to help select the best children's book of the year in South Dakota by reading Prairie Award books. To cast an online ballot at home, visit the [SDSL Ballot URL]. If you have any questions, please, contact me at [Your Name and Phone Number/Email].

The Prairie Bud, Prairie Bloom & Prairie Pasque Children's Book Awards are sponsored by the South Dakota Library Association link to s d library association dot org. Prairie Bud winners are determined by South Dakota pre-kindergarten, kindergarten, and first grade students. Prairie Bloom winners are determined by South Dakota second and third grade students. Prairie Pasque winners are determined by South Dakota fourth and fifth grade students. Students are encouraged to read and vote for their one favorite book of the year from the masterlists of titles. The books receiving the most votes from the students win the awards. A committee of educators and librarians select the books nominated for the awards.

The South Dakota Library Association (SDLA) is a statewide organization representing libraries, library employees, library trustees, and library supporters. SDLA provides leadership and educational opportunities, and supports its members in meeting the challenges of providing quality library service to all South Dakotans.

SD Children's Book Award Winners!

book cover of Gaston
Prairie Bud Winner: Gaston by Kelly DiPucchio

book cover of Dog versus cat
Prairie Bloom Winner: Dog V. Cat by Chris Gall

book cover of The Whispering Town
Prairie Pasque Winner: The Whispering Town by Jennifer Elvgren

South Dakota State Library Cornerstone
SDSL's e-Newsletter articles include:
  - Children and YA Services
  - Maker Spaces
  - School Libraries
  - Summer Reading
And many more!

Event calendar

          1 2
3 4 5 6 7 8 9
10 11 12 13 14 15 16
17 18 19 20 21 22 23
24 25 26 27 28 29 30

More CE Events



Children's & Young Adult Services Coordinator

Alissa Adams EMAIL
School Library Technology Coordinator
605-773-3131, Option 5, 3

The South Dakota State Library provides leadership for innovation and excellence in libraries and services to state government.

South Dakota State Library | South Dakota State Historical Society | South Dakota Department of Education | State of South Dakota

Accessibility Policy | Disclaimer | Privacy Policy