Click Now To Skip Main Navigation and go straight to Content.

Library Outreach/ LSTA

Children's & Youth Services



Electronic Resources


Libraries of South Dakota

School Libraries



Training Opportunities

Tribal Libraries

Young Adult Services

Access Services

Braille & Talking Book


Circulation Services


Digital Services

Interlibrary Loan Services

Hot Reads!

Libraries of South Dakota


Cataloging and Metadata


South Dakota State Library
MacKay Building
800 Governors Dr.
Pierre, SD 57501

1-605-773-6962 (FAX)
(SD Only) Email

Hours: Mon-Fri
8 am - 5 pm CT
7 am - 4 pm MT

Follow Me on Pinterest

Library Outreach/ LSTA | School Libraries | 21st Century School Library Awards

21st Century School Library Awards

The South Dakota State Library, a division of the Department of Education, formally and annually recognizes schools with libraries that meet the characteristics of a 21st Century school library through its program, place, and professional. Awards recognize the status of the library as Effective, Enhanced, or Exemplary based on the South Dakota School Library Guidelines. Click here for detailed directions and the award application.

Applications are accepted March 1 through May 1 of each year. The South Dakota State Library 21st Century School Library Committee, comprised of SDSL staff, a representative from DOE, and three previous year awardees, reviews all applications. Award announcements are made in early summer. Awardees are recognized at the Systems Change Conference in October of each year. Award status is valid for a two-year period.

For further inquiries and technical assistance, please contact Joan Upell Email Joan Upell or Marta Stirling Email Marta Stirling at 800/423-6665

2015 21st Century School Library Awardees



Brookings High School

Jean Kirschenman

Paul Von Fischer

Discovery Elementary School, Sioux Falls

Sharlene Lien

Lois Running

Explorer Elementary School, Harrisburg

Amy DeNomme

Doug Eppard

George S. Mickelson Middle School, Brookings

Kristen Leite

Tim Steffensen

Journey Elementary School, Harrisburg

Beth Wells

Dr. Micy Highstreet

Lincoln High School, Sioux Falls

Mary Peters

Val Fox

Memorial Middle School, Sioux Falls

Laura Allard

Carrie Aaron

Patrick Henry Middle School, Sioux Falls

Wendy Nelson

Darryl Walker

Roosevelt High School, Sioux Falls

Jeanne Conner

Tim Hazlett

St. Elizabeth Seton at Terra Sancta Elementary School, Rapid City

Jenelle Kirchoff

Colleen Lecy

St. Thomas More High School, Rapid City

Jenelle Kirchoff

Wayne Sullivan

Washington High School, Sioux Falls

Kerri Smith

James Nold


Huron High School

Dawn Coughlin

Demetria Moon

North Middle School, Rapid City

Jeff Cosier

Danny Janklow

Spearfish High School

Alissa Adams

Steve Morford


Huron Middle School

Robert Behlke

Mike Taplett

Oscar Howe Elementary School, Sioux Falls

Emily Blackwelder

Larry Larsen

T.F. Riggs High School, Pierre

Pamela Chamberlain Kringel

Kevin Mutchelknaus

2014 21st Century School Library Awardees



Douglas High School, Box Elder

Kimberly Darata

Bud Gusso

Harrisburg South Middle School, Harrisburg

Kristi Jones

Darren Ellwein

Madison Central High School

Joanne Kallhoff

Adam Shaw

O'Gorman High School, Sioux Falls

Mary G. Johnson

Kyle Groos

West Middle School, Rapid City

Shelley Rath

Douglas Foley


Colman-Egan School, Colman

Angie Sewell

Scott Hemmer

Edison Middle School, Sioux Falls

Kjerstin Smith

Steven Griffith


Valley View Elementary School, Rapid City

Jorrie Brandhagen

Wayne Rosby

Wagner Community School, Wagner

Brenda DeHaan

Linda Foos

West Central High School, Hartford

DaNann Kistler

Jeff Danielson

2013 21st Century School Library Awardees



Brookings High School

Jean Kirschenman

Paul vonFischer

Harrisburg High School

Emily Olson

Kevin Lein

Harrisburg Journey Elementary School

Kristi Jones

Micy Highstreet

RCAS Horace Mann Elementary School

Jeff Cosier

Scott Phares

SFP Lincoln High School

Mary Peters

Val Fox

SFP Memorial Middle School

Laura Allard

Carrie Aaron

SFP Roosevelt High School

Jeanne Conner

Tim Hazlett

SFP Washington High School

Kerri Smith

James Nold

Watertown High School

Jean Moulton

Michael Butts


Brookings Mickelson Middle School

Kris Leite

Melinda Jensen

Douglas Middle School

Mavis Schipman

Dan Baldwin

Harrisburg Explorer Elementary School

Amy DeNomme

Mike Munzke

Huron High School

Dawn Coughlin

Demitria Moon

Newell School

Gwendolyn Kitzan

Blake Dahlberg

SFP Discovery Elementary School

Sharlene Lien

Lois Running

SFP Patrick Henry Middle School

Wendy Nelson

Darryl Walker


Agar Blunt Onida-Sully Library

Jackie Aspelin

Kevin Pickner

Meade Co. Sturgis Brown High School

Alissa Adams

Jeff Simmons

RCAS South Park Elementary School

Melissa Thibault

Rod Haugen

RCCSS St. Elizabeth Seton Elem. School

Melissa Hubbell

Barb Honeycutt

Share |

Short Takes

short takes for trustees

The South Dakota State Library is excited to share with all South Dakota public libraries access to "Short Takes for Trustees" a series of 10 short videos for you and your Trustees to view through March, 2016.

LSTA Files

Library Services and Technology Act South Dakota State Library Five Year Plan: 2013-2017
PDF Download

More Publications

South Dakota State Library Cornerstone

SDSL's e-Newsletter
- Continuing Education Opportunities
- Digital Services
- Grant Opportunities
- Library Outreach/ LSTA
- Library Features & Headlines
- School Libraries
- Why Didn't I Think of That?

South Dakota State Library Cornerstone

SDSL's e-Newsletter
- Library Features & Headlines
- Why Didn't I Think of That?

Event calendar

        1 2 3
4 5 6 7 8 9 10
11 12 13 14 15 16 17
18 19 20 21 22 23 24
25 26 27 28 29 30 31

More CE Events



Joan Upell EMAIL
School Library Coordinator, West River
605-773-3131, Option 5, 3

Marta Stirling EMAIL
School Library Coordinator, East River
605-773-3131, Option 5, 3

The South Dakota State Library provides leadership for innovation and excellence in libraries and services to state government.

South Dakota State Library | South Dakota Department of Education | State of South Dakota

Accessibility Policy | Disclaimer | Privacy Policy