Skip to main content


South Dakota State Library
MacKay Building
800 Governors Dr.
Pierre, SD 57501

1-605-773-6962 (FAX)
(SD Only) Email

Hours: Mon-Fri
8 am - 5 pm CT
7 am - 4 pm MT

Follow Me on Pinterest

About SDSL | Board


The South Dakota State Library Board is comprised of 7 members.

Board Agenda and Minutes

  • Meeting: February 13, 2018
    1:30 PM CT
    Library Commons, MacKay Building
    Pierre, South Dakota 57501

  • Meeting: September 27, 2017
    1:30 PM CT
    Cedar Shores Resort, Hale/Oacoma Room
    Oacoma, South Dakota 57365
    Conference call: dial-in# 1-866-410-8397 code 6057735055
    • Agenda PDF Download
      • Attachment A: Board Minutes, July 13 Meeting PDF Download
      • Attachment B: Public Librarian Certification PDF Download
      • Attachment C: 'Future Ready' School Library Brochure PDF Download
      • Attachment D: School Library Data Digest PDF Download
      • Attachment E: Emporia State University orientation PDF Download
      • Attachment F: Puzzle Map 2017 PDF Download
      • Attachment G: Quick Start Guide PDF Download
    • Minutes PDF Download
  • Archive of past meetings

These meetings are held in a physically accessible place. Individuals needing assistance, pursuant to the Americans with Disabilities Act, should contact Quynn Verhelst at 605-773-5055 in advance of the meeting to make any necessary arrangements.

Board Directory:

Monte Loos EMAIL
Rapid City
Term Expires: Oct 30, 2019

Dr. Paul Turman EMAIL
Board of Regents Representative

Judy Trzynka EMAIL
Term Expires: October 30, 2018

Trista Friman EMAIL
Term Expires: October 30, 2019

Tom Nelson EMAIL
Term Expires: October 30, 2020

Carol Twedt EMAIL
Sioux Falls
Term Expires: October 30, 2020

Natalie Bergquist
Lower Brule
Term Expires: Oct 30, 2018

Mango Languages will no longer be available through the State Library as of October 1, 2017.

We are pleased to announce Pronunciator, a resource with over 80 different languages.

State Library Board
February 13, 2018, Pierre

Job Opportunity!
The SD State Library is hiring a Library Associate!

Looking for
The web site previously administered by the South Dakota Library Network will be taken down as of July 28, 2017. If any libraries still have links to this site on their library web sites, those links should be removed.

SDSL Public Library Trustee Wiki Web Link to Trustee Wiki
A general overview of trustee duties and responsibilities, issues, and skills to develop.

Event calendar

          1 2
3 4 5 6 7 8 9
10 11 12 13 14 15 16
17 18 19 20 21 22 23
24 25 26 27 28 29 30

More CE Events


The South Dakota State Library provides leadership for innovation and excellence in libraries and services to state government.

South Dakota State Library | South Dakota State Historical Society | South Dakota Department of Education | State of South Dakota

Accessibility Policy | Disclaimer | Privacy Policy