Subscribe in a reader

June 2011, Volume 3, Issue 6

Continuing Education Alert


Check Your Calendars!!

2011 One Book South Dakota

2011 Authors on the Road

ALA Annual Conference
June 23-28

Indian Education Summit
Sept. 25-27

SDLA Annual Conference
Oct. 5-7

SD Festival of Books
Oct. 7-9

AASL National Conference
Oct. 27-30


Featured e-Resources of the Month
Learning Express Library helps summer job seekers


Continuing Education

 

escWorks is retiring, save your CE data

On July 1, 2011 the Department of Education will no longer be using escWorks for CE registration. Anyone with an account will need to print off a copy of their continuing education credits. Please act quickly!!

JUNE 2011
MTWTFS/S
    1 2 3 4/5
6 7 8 9 10 11/12
13 14 15 16 17 18/19
20 21 22 23 24 25/26
27 28 29 30    
More CE Events

 


June 1

 

June 2

 

June 6

 

June 7

 

June 8

 

June 10

 

June 13

 

June 14

  • SIRS Discoverer
    (10:00 – 11:00 am CT; 9:00 – 10:00 am MT; online webinar)
  • Libraries are Essential: Building an Ongoing Connection
    (1:00 pm – 2:00 pm CT; 12:00 – 1:00 pm MT; online webinar)
    We all know that in these tough economic times, libraries have a great value proposition for their communities. The challenge comes in making sure the library's story is told in a meaningful way. One of the best ways to do this is though strong connections to the community and its organizations.
  • Cataloging Efficiencies That Make a Difference
    (1:00 pm – 2:00 pm CT; 12:00 – 1:00 pm MT; online webinar)
    Over the past eight months, OCLC Member Services staff have been traveling around the U.S. to hear how librarians have faced the challenge to streamline cataloging at a time of reduced budgets and staff. In this webinar, you'll hear two academic librarians share their experiences of reviewing and revising tech services workflows, cataloging e-books and more.
  • SIRS Discoverer: Educator Tools
    (11:15 am – 12:15 pm CT; 10:15 – 11:15 am MT; online webinar)
  • SIRS Issues Researcher
    (1:00 – 2:00 pm CT; 12:00 – 1:00 pm MT; online webinar)

 

June 15

 

June 16

  • Craft Essentials
    (12:00 – 1:00 pm CT; 11:00 – 12:00 pm MT; online webinar)
    Saving money and the planet, crafts and DIY books are blowing up and ranging wide. Join us to hear from Creative Publishing International, Potter Craft, and Tuttle Publishing on their hot frontlist and forthcoming crafts and DIY titles.

 

June 21

  • Foreclosure, and Bad Credit and No Job, Oh My!
    (1:00 – 2:00 pm CT; 12:00 – 1:00 pm MT; online webinar)
    In these tough economic times patrons faced with increased financial challenges need help and are too afraid to ask. Discover how you can connect library patrons to trustworthy financial assistance information and learn how three county government departments in Washington County, Minnesota collaborated to get reliable and just-in-time information to county residents.

 

June 22

  • Preventing Staff Burnout
    (2:00 – 3:00 pm CT; 1:00 – 2:00 pm MT; online webinar)
    Work is stressful, and getting more so every day. Library managers and staff need to be aware of the difference between stress and burnout, which is actually unhealthy and dangerous. Learn how to recognize the symptoms of burnout and what to do about it.

 

 

 

art, cataloguing, communities, continuing education, webinars

next: Children's and YA Services | Table of Contents

prev: Library Headlines

Share |   

The Cornerstone monthly e-newsletter is created by the South Dakota State Library. For more information on how to be a part of this newsletter, please contact us via e-mail with your questions and ideas.