Subscribe in a reader

September 2011, Volume 3, Issue 8

Continuing Education Alert


Check Your Calendars!!

2011 One Book South Dakota

2011 Authors on the Road

Library Card Sign Up Month
September

Banned Books Week
Sept. 24 - Oct. 1

Indian Education Summit Pre-Conference
Sept. 25

Indian Education Summit
Sept. 25-27

Banned Websites Awareness Day
Sept. 28

SDLA Annual Conference
Oct. 5-7

SD Festival of Books
Oct. 7-9

National Friends of Libraries Week
Oct. 16-22

Teen Read Week
Oct. 16-22

AASL National Conference
Oct. 27-30


Featured e-Resources of the Month
Back to learning for all ages


Continuing Education Opportunities

 

Of special interest…

Trends in Library Training and Learning 2011 was an excellent online conference hosted by WebJunction in collaboration with the ALA Learning Round Table on Aug. 10-11. You can now view the archived recordings, slides, chat and related links for each session on WebJunction.

 

SEPTEMBER 2011
MTWTFS/S
      1 2 3/4
5 6 7 8 9 10/11
12 13 14 15 16 17/18
19 20 21 22 23 24/25
26 27 28 29 30  
More CE Events

 


September 1

  • Interlibrary Loan Webinars
    Presented by the South Dakota State Library
    (12:00 — 1:00 pm CT; 11:00 am — 12:00 pm MT; online webinar)
    Are you confused about recent ILL changes? New to the library? Want an opportunity to talk with ILL staff? We'll cover:
    • How to place an ILL request via SDLN
    • How to place an ILL request via World Cat
    • The South Dakota State Library's ILL policy
  • Introduction to the New ProQuest Platform
    (8:00 — 9:00 am CT; 7:00 — 8:00 am MT; online webinar)
  • World Book Online Public Library Edition
    (2:00 — 3:00 pm CT; 1:00 — 2:00 pm MT; online webinar)
  • SIRS Issues Researcher
    (3:00 — 4:00 pm CT; 2:00 — 3:00 pm MT; online webinar)

September 6

September 7

  • Learning Express Library
    (11:00 — 12:00 pm CT; 10:00 — 11:00 am MT; online webinar)
  • Maximize Your Employee Relationships in Five Easy Steps
    (12:00 — 1:00 pm CT; 11:00 — 12:00 pm MT; online webinar)
    You will learn how to build the foundation for successful relationships, good communication and better results at work. Participants will learn the five steps for creating more positive, productive relationships with their employees. If an employee relationship has become less effective, we’ll discuss how and when to positively intervene. Finally, we’ll learn some easy ways to begin putting the five steps into action immediately.
  • Writing for the Web: Today’s Best Practices
    (2:00 — 3:00 pm CT; 1:00 — 2:00 pm MT; online webinar)
    Your website is a key part of your organization’s outreach/marketing effort and needs to speak to your readers their way. This webinar will offer you plenty of tips and techniques to make sure your content is web reader-friendly, while it stresses your community impact.

September 8

  • Video Book Trailers as a Way to Reel in Readers
    (2:00 — 3:00 pm CT; 1:00 — 2:00 pm MT; online webinar)
    Have you ever seen a clever book trailer online, and wondered how did they DO that? This webinar will explain the steps. This webinar will help you:
    • explain what a book trailer is
    • define the steps to create your own book trailer
    • identify benefits and challenges of creating book trailers
    • come up with one program idea that incorporates book trailers
  • Ancestry Library Edition
    (2:00 — 3:00 pm CT; 1:00 — 2:00 pm MT; online webinar)

September 9

September 12

September 13

  • SIRS Issues Researcher: Educator Tools
    (9:00 — 10:00 am CT; 8:00 — 9:00 am MT; online webinar)
  • Mystery Fall Announcements
    (11:00 — 12:00 pm CT; 10:00 — 11:00 am MT; online webinar)
    As Library Journal mystery reviewer Teresa Jacobsen noted in a recent column, many librarians are facing budgetary issues and will be looking for titles that work for a variety of readers, especially those with crossover appeal. Of course, you’ll find a healthy dose of procedurals and cozies available this fall, but don’t forget your readers who are looking to stretch their interests, willing to dip into a bio-thriller, a contemporary spy novel, or a brand new series.
  • Ready for Romance? New Novels and Hot Trends
    (1:00 — 2:00 pm CT; 12:00 — 1:00 pm MT; online webinar)
    Can’t keep up with the deluge of romance titles? Join Booklist romance editor Donna Seaman for a lively overview of forthcoming romance titles from five leaders in the genre as representatives from Harlequin, Sourcebooks, Macmillan, Baker, and Harper showcase established and new writers and the latest trends from demon passion to Amish love stories in a free, hour-long webinar.
  • SIRS Discoverer
    (2:30 — 3:30 pm CT; 1:30 — 2:30 pm MT; online webinar)
  • SIRS Discoverer: Educator Tools
    (3:45 — 4:15 pm CT; 2:45 — 3:15 pm MT; online webinar)

September 14

  • Introduction to the New ProQuest Platform
    (12:00 — 1:00 pm CT; 11:00 am — 12:00 pm MT; online webinar)
  • Conversation Channels Insight into Action!
    (12:00 — 1:00 pm CT; 11:00 am — 12:00 pm MT; online webinar)
    To lead operations let alone innovate amid frequent restructurings, program changes, and retirements, nonprofit leaders know they must quickly capitalize on hidden know-how. Knowledge Jam, the subject of Sharing Hidden Know-How (Jossey-Bass/Wiley, 2011) puts conversation into the center of knowledge-transfer. In this facilitated process, knowledge-seekers and knowledge—originators draw out context and reasoning so that they can apply that knowledge quickly. Learn how and when to plan and lead a Knowledge Jam to capitalize on your organization’s fleeting knowledge.
  • Book Repair Basics for Libraries
    (1:00 — 2:30 pm CT; 12:00 — 1:30 pm MT; online webinar)
    Participants become familiar with several types of basic repairs for bound circulating collections materials in school, public, and academic libraries. Tips on basic page repairs, hinge tightening, and a variety of spine repairs will be covered. Techniques will be illustrated and demonstrated with text, images, and video. Registration opens at 12:30 pm (CT) the day of the webinar, and is open to the first 500 registrants.
  • Location-Based Social Networks
    (2:00 — 3:00 pm CT; 1:00 — 2:00 pm MT; online webinar)
    Have you noticed an increasing number of library users connecting with mobile devices? Do you want to get your library on the location map, but don’t know where to start? These questions and more will be answered in this webinar.

September 15

  • Teaching 21st Century Research Skills Using the World Book Web
    (10:00 — 10:30 am CT; 9:00 — 9:30 am MT; online webinar)
  • Books for Boys
    (2:00 — 3:00 pm CT; 1:00 — 2:00 pm MT; online webinar)
    Non-readers, despite their gender, get left behind in life. Low literacy contributes to drop out rates, crime rates, and increased chances for incarceration. This is especially true for boys, who are already less likely to graduate from high school, based on trend reports from the National Council on Education Statistics. What can librarians and educators do to help turn these boys who avoid books into readers? Our presenters will be joined by celebrity moderator Jon Scieszka, founder of Guys Read, a nonprofit web-based literacy program with the mission to help boys become self-motivated, lifelong readers.

September 16

September 19

September 20

  • Innovations from America's Best Small Libraries 2011
    (1:00 — 2:00 pm CT; 12:00 — 1:00 pm MT; online webinar)
    Library Journal's annual Best Small Library in America Award, sponsored by the Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation, was created in 2005 to encourage and showcase the exemplary work of libraries serving populations under 25,000. In collaboration with the Association for Rural and Small Libraries, we are hosting this webinar with 2011 finalists. This year's winner serves a population of only 2,100 with technology, distance education, and programming supporting all the community's lifelong learning needs.
  • SIRS Issues Researcher
    (3:00 — 4:00 pm CT; 2:00 — 3:00 pm MT; online webinar)

September 21

September 22

  • SLJ YA Fall Announcements
    (1:00 — 2:00 pm CT; 12:00 — 1:00 pm MT; online webinar)
    What a wonderful time to be a teen reader! There are so many choices—from fantasy favorites with angels, demons and vampires (not gone yet…) to contemporary and future forward dystopian coming of age stories. Help your young adult readers find just the right book by attending this one hour webcast highlighting the best of new and forthcoming titles from four of the best publishing houses working in the YA sphere. Join your colleagues for this one hour webcast (hey, you can even invite the kids), download the title list, and get these titles on your shelves pronto!

September 26

September 27

  • SIRS Discoverer
    (2:00 — 3:00 pm CT; 1:00 — 2:00 pm MT; online webinar)

September 29

September 30

 

 

 

ALA, continuing education

next: Children's & YA Services | Table of Contents

prev: Library Headlines

Share |   

The Cornerstone monthly e-newsletter is created by the South Dakota State Library. For more information on how to be a part of this newsletter, please contact us via e-mail with your questions and ideas.